Jharkhand Election 2019 Voting Updates: Polling for Phase 1 shuts; barring sporadic incidents of violence, polling largely peaceful in Naxalism-hit state


Voting largely peaceful Phase 1 barring few incidents

Around 46.83 percent votes were cast till 2 pm on Saturday in the first phase of Jharkhand assembly elections in 13 constituencies, amid sporadic incidents of violence in some districts, officials said.

The voting commenced at 7 am and ended at 3 pm, Election Commission (EC) officials said. A total of 37,83,055 electorate, including 18,01,356 women and five third-gender voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the first phase across six districts.

Additional Director General of Police Murari Lal Meena said Naxalites exploded a bomb near a culvert in the forests of Gumla district, but there was no casualty or damage. “The explosion occurred near the culvert in the forests between Banalat and Biranpur villages under Bishunpur assembly constituency of the district,” Meena said.

He, however, said “peaceful” polling is underway in all the 13 constituencies. Palamau Deputy Commissioner-cum-Returning Officer​ Shantanu Agrahari said a minor clash broke out between two groups near Kosiyara polling station in Daltonganj assembly constituency.

The agitators broke the window panes of a police vehicle after Congress candidate K N Tripathi allegedly tried to enter the polling booth with arms, he said,  adding, the situation was quickly brought under control. Police has seized a pistol and three cartridges, which were allegedly in Tripathi’s possession, Agrahari said.

Voter turn out at 2 pm

The overall voter turnout in Jharkhand was 46.83 percent till 2 pm. The election commission released the voter turnout data for each district, according to which, Bhawanathpur had the best start with over 53 percent turnout till 1 pm. Meanwhile, Bishunpur showed the least voter turnout with 41.39 percent amid all 13 seats in Phase 1 of Jharkhand Assembly elections.

Assembly Constituency Name Voter turn out
Chatra 46.21%
Gumla 41.90%
Bishunpur 41.39%
Lohardaga 48.72%
Manika 45.17%
Latehar 52.14%
Panki 45.20%
Daltonganj 45.40%
Bishrampur 45.80%
Chattarpur 47.40%
Hussainabad 46.80%
Garhwa 46%
Bhawanathpur 53%​

Source- First post