Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly election in December 2018

Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly election in December 2018

Elections to the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly will be held in 2018 to elect members from the 90 constituencies in Chhattisgarh. The tenure of Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly ends on 5 January 2019. The dates of the election are yet to be announced as of November 2017.

The Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha or the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly is the unicameral state legislature of Chhattisgarh state in central India. The seat of the Vidhan Sabha is at Raipur, the capital of the state. The Vidhan Sabha comprises 91 Members of Legislative Assembly, which include 90 members directly elected from single-seat constituencies and one nominated from the Anglo-Indian community. Its term is 5 years, unless sooner dissolved.

The state of Chhattisgarh was created by the Madhya Pradesh Reorganization Act 2000, approved by the President of India on 25 August 2000. The Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha came into existence with the creation of the state on 1 November 2000. The first session of the Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha was held at Jashpur hall of Rajkumar College in Raipur. Later, the Vidhan Sabha was shifted to the newly constructed Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha Bhavan at Vidhan Nagar, on Raipur-Baloda Bazar Road. Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha sits for three sessions viz. Budget, Monsoon, Winter.

List of assemblies

Assembly Duration Winning Party/Coalition Chief Minister Opposition leader
1st 2000–2003 Indian National Congress Ajit Jogi Nand Kumar Sai
2nd 2003–2008 Bharatiya Janata Party Raman Singh Mahendra Karma
3rd 2008–2013 Bharatiya Janata Party Raman Singh Ravindra Choubey
4th 2013–Present Bharatiya Janata Party Raman Singh TS Singhdev
Political groups
Government (49)

  •      BJP (49)

Opposition (41)

  •      INC (39)
  •      BSP (1)
  •      Independent (1)