Nagaland Legislative Assembly election- 27th Feb 2018

Nagaland State Assembly election
Nagaland State Assembly election

The legislative assembly election will be held on 27 February 2018 to elect members of the 60 constituencies in Nagaland. Counting of votes will take place on 3 March 2018.

Event Date Day
Date for nominations 31 Jan 2018 Wednesday
Last date for filing nominations 7 Feb 2018 Wednesday
Date for scrutiny of nominations 8 Feb 2018 Thursday
Last date for withdrawal of candidatures 12 Feb 2018 Monday
Date of poll 27 Feb 2018 Tuesday
Date of counting 3 Mar 2018 Saturday
Date before which the election shall be completed 5 Mar 2018 Monday

Nagaland Legislative Assembly is the unicameral legislature of the Indian state of Nagaland. Nagaland became a state of India on 1 December 1963 and after elections in January 1964, the first Nagaland Legislative Assembly was formed on 11 February 1964. In 1974, the strength of the Legislative assembly was increased to the present strength of 60 members.

There is no nominated member in the House, all the members are elected on the basis of the adult franchise from single-seat constituencies. The normal tenure of the House is five years unless dissolved sooner. The seat of the House is Kohima, the capital of Nagaland. The current speaker is Chotisuh Sazo.

On 18 June 2014, 3 NCP MLAs defected to the BJP, leaving only one NCP MLA remaining in the assembly.

On 21st November 2015, all 8 Indian National Congress MLAs merged with the Naga People’s Front, furthering the party’s seat count to 46.

On the 12 of July 2016, the 12th Nagaland legislative assembly saw the passing of “The Nagaland Salaries Allowances, other facilities of chief ministers, speaker, Leader of opposition, Deputy Speaker and other Members of the Nagaland legislative assembly/ Parliamentary Secretaries and pension for ex-members Act, 2005 (Fifth amendment Bill, 2016)”. President’s rule has been imposed in Nagaland four times; 1975–77, 1988–89, 1992–93 and 2008.

Polling Date:- 27th February 2018 (Tuesday)

Result Date:- 3rd March 2018 (Saturday)

Seats 60
Nagaland Legislative Assembly diagram.svg
Political groups
Government (50)

  •      NPF (45)
  •      BJP (4)
  •      JD(U) (1)

Opposition (9)

  •      NCP (1)
  •      Independents(8)

Vacant (1)

  •      Vacant (1)
Voting system
Last election
23 February 2013

Quick facts about Nagaland Elections

Parliamentary Constituencies 1
Assembly Constituencies 60
Ruling Party Naga People’s Front
Opposition Party None
Chief Minister Shri TR Zeliang
Governor Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya
Chief Electoral Officer Abhijit Sinha
CEO Address The Chief Electoral Officer, D-Block, Kohima – 797001, Nagaland.